OpenGarage Forums Hardware Questions Wemos D1 open garage with DHT22 temperature/humidity sensor

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Gompka
    Participant

Ray and his contributors have come up with many great products and have been kind enough to provide them to others as open source. I have limited knowledge and experience with Arduino and with esp8266 and I decided to build my own opengarage as a learning experience.
    I decided to use the Wemos d1 mini esp8266 breakout board because of its online support, its built in USB to serial chip for programming the Wemos, its 3.3v regulator and because of the shields available for it which further simplified adding relays and other peripherals.
    My goal was to get the opengarage firmware working on the Wemos and to also add a dht22 temperature and humidity sensor. I decided to document my experience in case others are interested in doing something similar and would appreciate some tips as to what I did and what problems I encountered.
    Below is the bill of materials for the parts I decided to use, I sourced them from Aliexpess.com

BOM
    • Wemos D1 mini
    • US-100 ultrasonic sensor
    • Wemos D1 mini relay shield
    • DHT22
    • Generic pushbutton
    • Generic piezo buzzer

Software
    • Most recent Arduino ide Arduino.cc
    • Boards file for Wemos D1 mini (esp8266)
    o In the Arduino IDE go to File | Preferences | Additional Boards Manager URLS: and paste in (http://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/package_esp8266com_index.json)
    o Then go to Tools | Board | Board Manager and search for esp8266, ***MAKE SURE TO SELECT VERSION 2.2.0 and not 2.3.0***
    • Esp8266 library
    o In Arduino IDE go to Sketch | Include Library | Manage Libraries and search for esp8266.
    • Blynk library
    o Same process as getting the esp8266 library
    • Adafruit DHT library
    • Simpletimer library
    • Open garage library opengarage github